July Nationals Predictions

7/17-19 vs NYM -

Drew

Is there anyone who doesn’t love R.A. Dickey? Who wouldn’t love possibly the geekiest player in baseball (Paragraph 1 here).  The Met’s seem to have righted their ship and are on a tear through June.  They’ve put up enough offense recently to be spot on their PWP. That scares me.  I’m going to have to start buying the Mets as a serious contenders this year and they may bump the Nat’s out of first place by the end of this series.  Because of their recent success, I’m going to say the Nat’s go 1-2 in this series.

Maggie

The Mets are the Mets.  They’re a team that has never “scared” me the way that others have.  Any team with a mascot that’s just a dude wearing a giant baseball on his head cannot be scary.  The scariest part about the Mets is Dickey, who has really steamrolled everyone else this year with his awesome knuckler.  I’ll take the Nats 2-1…with the caveat of 1-2 if Dickey starts in this series.

7/20-22 vs ATL -

Drew

As I write this, the Bravos just won their second game of the season against the Nats. Their second game and it’s basically the All-Star break. It was also 110 today in Atlanta. For whatever reason, the Braves can’t seem to beat the Nationals.  That being said, the Braves are a very good team again this year. Their continued lack of success is rather inexplicable. However, I still think the Nats are going to beat the Braves 3 games to 1, even with the double header.

Maggie

Late July is hot in DC, and we’ve seen how the team has some issues dealing with the heat down in Atlanta this past weekend.  With a doubleheader on the 21st, and an Atlanta team coming back from the All Star break with renewed vigor, I can’t say anything more than a split series, 2-2.

 7/23-25 @ NYM -

Drew

See my previous paragraph about the Mets. It applies doubly now that the games will be played in NYC.  Mets take 2.

Maggie

Is July Mets month?  In any case, my feelings haven’t changed, and I will continue to give this team weary respect until they prove they don’t deserve it.  Nats drop 2, and fingers crossed they win a game for my birthday on the 23rd.

7/26-29 @ MIL-

Drew

I’m looking forward to these games, not the least of which is the fact that the last one takes place on my birthday (I’ll be going to Phillies game the two days afterwards).  The Brewers are another cellar dweller from the NL central. Oddly enough, they lead the NL in K/9 but have a terrible BABIP (.319) which is a direct result of a terrible defense.  I’m not sure I can blame the defense for all of their woes but it doesn’t help.  Since I’m turning 30 and I believe the Nats are going to want to rebound after a tough series against the Mets, I’m going big with the sweep!

Maggie

I seriously have no idea bout the Brewers.  They’re sitting in the mediocre middle-lower half of the NL Central, and I’ve just got to hope that the Nats look to close out July on a strong note.  Nats take the series, 3-1.

One thought on “July Nationals Predictions

  1. Pingback: » Whoops! July Predictions – Part 2 | First Ladies of Baseball

Comments are closed.